Condoms, Trust and Saying No

Always Aroused Girl has made a couple posts about her experience with a trusted lover who promised her that he was using condoms with all other lovers. In time she discovered that this man had betrayed her, and was actually going condom free with several other lovers who each also believed that she was the only one with whom he was condom-free.

It got me to thinking about an incident I’ve tried to block out of my mind.

Earlier this year, I woo’ed by, then dumped by, a man I met online. He lived halfway across the country, so we spent several months getting to know one another through emails, phone calls and text messages. We discussed our expectations in anticipation of our first meeting. We talked about the best- and worst-case scenarios. (I thought) we opened our hearts to each other.

Before our first date, I warned him that I don’t sleep with men on the first date. In fact, I don’t have sex with a man until I’m sure it’s likely to become a relationship. He told me that he’d had a relationship with every woman he’s slept with. Even if no sex was involved, I told him, I hoped to spend the night sleeping wrapped in his arms. And we both agreed that in some respects it didn’t feel like a first date because we’d gotten to know each other so well. Even though we’d never met face-to-face, I felt as if a level of trust had developed between us.

That first night we went out to dinner. There was wine involved, but the quantities were relatively modest. I wasn’t drunk, and I don’t think he was, either. After dinner, we went back to his hotel room. That, in itself, wasn’t a surprise. I’d met him before dinner at his hotel. I’d even been up to his room before dinner, and he was a perfect gentleman. I wanted to go back to his hotel room.

Clothes were removed. Body parts were touched and kissed and fondled and bitten. Soon, he made it clear that he wanted to have sex, and I agreed. Get a condom, I insisted. He initially balked, but finally got one from his toiletry kit. We started to have sex. We stopped to engage in more fun that didn’t involve penetration. We started to have sex again. We stopped again. He removed the condom and we continued in our passionate ways, minus pentration. We were both having fun, and there didn’t seem to be any pressure to rush things.

I rolled onto my side, with my back to him. Suddenly he forced himself into me. “No Daddy,” I whimpered. “Please, no, stop.”

He didn’t. It lasted only a brief moment in time–maybe less than a minute–before he came inside me. “It’s OK, baby,” he said. “I’ve been tested. I’m safe. I haven’t been with anyone since I was tested 6 months ago.”

I didn’t argue. We curled up together an fell asleep.

I saw him one more before he left town. There was no sex involved. But in the back of my mind, I had a nagging feeling. Without any discussion, he’d fucked me without a condom. I hadn’t given permission. I’d asked him to stop. He didn’t. But for some reason, I found myself willing to overlook it. After all, I cared about this man. I’d fallen for him, head over heels, before we even met. And the rest of our time together–you know, except for the part where he was fucking me against my will without a condom–was magical. For whatever reason, I felt willing to forgive him for that heat-of-the-moment transgression.

He left town and we started to make plans for our next visit. Then, without warning, he disappeared as quickly as he’s appeared.

In my anger over what could have been, I also started to get angry over the sex. I was upset and bothered on a lot of levels, but I was also upset with myself, because to some extent I was willing to forgive him. Some of the things that went through my mind when dealing with the ramifications:

  • I said no, and he ignored me. But in the BDSM world, when does “no” really mean “no”? We hadn’t set a safeword, so should he have listened to me when I said “no”?
  • If I’d really meant it, couldn’t I have pulled away from him, gotten up and walked out the door?
  • He never asked if I’d been tested, nor did he ask if I was on birth control. The irony is that he has two children under the age of 5 with two women. The younger of the kids–the one who wasn’t even a year old at the time–was an accidental pregnancy with his ex-girlfriend. Shouldn’t a man who’s recently made that mistake ensure that he takes all precautions to prevent another unplanned pregnancy?
  • I have no insurance, and the cost of a full battery of STD tests costs real money. I walked into my local free clinic a month or two later, and immediately turned around and left. It was dirty. The clientele looked seedy. The wait would be hours, and they took no appointments. Eventually I broke down and got the tests from my OB-GYN. It was an expensive lesson, but fortunately the results were clean.
  • This man was previously a law-enforcement officer. And not just any old small-town police officer. He worked for a federal law enforcement agency. (And, yes, it’s the one you’re probably thinking of.) He’s now an executive at a big company, where he reports to the CEO. (The kind of position where you worry about your image, and don’t do things outside of work that could tarnish your image at the office.) Aren’t these the kinds of people we should be able to trust?
  • He has daughters who are close to my age. How would he feel if a man treated one of his daughters this way?
  • If you agree to sex under certain conditions (with a condom) and then the conditions change (the condom is removed) and you say “no” is it date rape?
  • Why was I willing to forgive him for ignoring my wishes when I thought things were going well between us, but I became so angry about the incident when things fell apart?

I’ve asked myself all of these questions, and more, over the last six months. And I don’t have the answers. Most of the time I’m able to put it out of my mind, but Always Aroused Girl’s recent post brought the memories back to me. It’s still upsetting because of what happened, and because of the way that I reacted–or didn’t react–to the situation.

5 Responses to Condoms, Trust and Saying No

  1. aag says:

    This is awful. What a betrayal of trust. I think we get frozen sometimes when something that unexpected happens. I certainly have.

    Thank you for writing…I’m sure it must have been uncomfortable to think about it.

    aag

  2. crystalline says:

    I’ve enjoyed reading through your posts. I had to stop at this one and comment, tho. I know we don’t know each other and i sense a whole lotta typing is going to happen in a minute here. Hope you don’t mind :).

    Thank you for sharing this particlar experience with us. With so many people “meeting” on the internet and then meeting later on, i just have a feeling that many have gotten into similar situations. And it is important that we hear these stories again and again so that we can prepare our minds to accept that it could happen to any of us.

    If you think about it, the online relationships grow so deeply so quickly and are full of emotion and even lust. Sometimes people think they are in love and i suppose they are. Add a submissive woman into the mix who just craves to be loved and accepted and wants to please and serve and you have a situation that can end up just like yours did….. i can relate to this, i really can. The answers to your question can be found here, i think.

    What might be more important, though, is that now you know that you are vulnerable in this way…. about your boundaries being easily crossed. Being aware is like putting on armor.

    Take care and hugggs….

    crystalline

  3. M says:

    you were raped.

    when he started to penetrate you (without a condom and without warning), you clearly said no.
    he had no reason (except maybe for willful self-deceit) to believe you were just pretending to say no. you can tell he knew you weren’t consenting because he waited until after he had done it to convince you that it was ok.

    he continued and, what’s more, came inside you.

    in other words, he had sex with you while disregarding your wishes and your health. it stopped only when he had an orgasm.

    when I was raped by a college friend, I told myself that it was just a misunderstanding. I really couldn’t deal with the idea that someone had done that to me, and I convinced myself that I’d really been in control, that the guy really liked me and had just been too passionate, that he thought I was only fake-resisting, etc. The whole time I felt sick, but I kept pursuing him and even slept with him again to try to prove it to myself. This time, he wasn’t drunk, and he didn’t have to hold me down. I hated myself afterwards. He avoided me, and when I heard that he’d tried to rape another girl I knew, only then could I admit what had happened.

  4. Randy says:

    I am necro-posting, but Gray Lily’s blog post today led me over here, and I also read AAG, so feel compelled to share the info I have that applies to this…

    A woman wrote a book called, “Why Men Never Remember and Women Never Forget”, all about brain chemistry, she was a doctor who decided to read all she had access to on such things.

    Anyway, what applies here is that the hormones that makes us feel in lust, shut down the critical thinking part of our brain.

    An action that would be abhorrent any other time literally has no check. You know when you meet someone’s new interest and are surprised they don’t mind so many of their negative attributes?

    “Love is blind.”

    It’s not a failing on your part, it’s not alcohol, it’s the way we naturally work.

  5. John says:

    Older post, but I had to comment. Very similar situation happened to me. Yes, you are VERY lucky. I now am HIV positive because of my experience.

Leave a comment