Maybe? Perhaps? Fingers Crossed!

After swearing, time and time again, that I wouldn’t get involved in another long-distance relationship, I’ve “met” a man who seems too good to be true, but even the skeptic in me is almost persuaded that he is the real deal. We’ve been talking and writing and texting for about six weeks–since just days after the Dark Horse and I finally called it quits–and I’ll meet him face-to-face later this month.

There are a lot of dangers connected with meeting someone online. One is that you’ll fall in love with their online persona, and then be disappointed when confronted with reality. Maybe he chews with his mouth open. Or won’t look you in the eyes. Or has body odor. Or looks five years old than his photos. Maybe he’s rude to waitresses. Or drives like a maniac. Or doesn’t tip well. Maybe he’s too forward when you meet in person. Or he’s not forward enough. Maybe he comes across as creepy. Or a little overeager. Maybe he has the same mannerisms as your last boyfriend. Or as your father. Or maybe you just don’t have physical chemistry, despite the mental connection.

I’m trying to keep an open mind. I don’t want to get too excited; I’m trying to go into our meeting with low expectations. But we’ve already spent so many hours on the phone, and traded hundreds of email, so it’s hard to manage my expectations. I’d love to say that I’m hoping for the best but expecting the worst. It is accurate, in some respects, but I know I’ll be terribly disappointed and will feel let down if we’re not a match.

2 Responses to Maybe? Perhaps? Fingers Crossed!

  1. Roper says:

    Good luck!

  2. […] this year, I woo’ed, then dumped, by a man I met online. He lived halfway across the country, so we spent several […]

Leave a comment