Time Flies By

The other day I realized that Valentine’s Day is rapidly approaching, and my mind started to wander back in time. Last year, I was going on a first date on Valentine’s Day with Guy #3, or so I thought. Then I remembered, it wasn’t one year ago, but two. Where does the time go? I thought about it some more, then realized what I was forgetting: That I’d wasted almost a year with the Dark Horse. At one point, he was the first person I thought of when I woke up in the morning and the last I thought about before falling asleep. He was also the person I talked to most frequently each day–we’d often spend hours on the phone. Now, I might trade an email or IM with him once a month or so. The last time he called, I let it go to voicemail. Isn’t it odd how people come into our lives–people who we think will be in our lives forever–and then disappear as quickly as they appeared?

Things with the BF are wonderful. Our relationship has felt very comfortable–but passionate–since the day we first met. I think one of the reasons it works so well is that we both work well together in a variety of roles. When we’re alone with one another, it’s Daddy and his little girl. When we host a dinner party, we naturally work well together as host and hostess. Recently we were in a resort destination for a board meeting he had to attend, and I was quite happy to be his intelligent, attractive arm candy–as comfortable seated next to his boss at dinner as I was talking to my BF’s subordinates and their spouses over cocktails. He knows I’ll make him proud in any of these situations, and I do my best to make him proud.

Just a quick post to let you know that I’m alive and well!

2 Responses to Time Flies By

  1. aoefey says:

    Hey good to hear from you! Good to hear you guys are still going strong too.

    aoefe

    (still single)

  2. J says:

    Thanks Aoefe!

Leave a comment