Rules for Dominants

I’ve been dating my boyfriend for the last year. In some respects, it’s my first long-term relationship with a dominant man (at least, my first LTR where we acknowledge our dominance and submission). I searched long and hard for a dominant man. And while I was searching, I made a common mistake: I started to imagine my dream relationship, and it was perfect. Unfortunately, I met my dream man, and my fantasy relationship collided with reality. It’s easy in this internet age to read to much online. You read blogs that detail the blogger’s perfect life. You read stories where people talk about their perfect relationship. You meet someone online who tells you exactly what he’s looking for, and you imagine that it could be true.

But what you forget is that real life is never perfect. People get sick. People get mad. People have bad days at work. People take other people for granted. People get stressed out. People sneeze and poop and fart. People yell. People are inconsiderate. People have families. People have other demands on their life.

The last eight months of my relationship have been up and down. There have been a lot of fantastic times together, but there have also been a lot of tears, some harsh words for one another, and some questions about whether we are really meant to be together. Some of these tensions have been brought upon us because the outside world has interfered. But that’s life…there will always be demands from work and friends and family. You can’t avoid it. But, in our relationship, it’s caused tension. When we’re together, we’re terrific. When we’re apart, things start to unravel. Unfortunately, for reasons outside of our control (mainly work, but also elderly family members who need each of our attentions), we spend more time than we’d like apart.

I must admit that I’m often the one who starts the fights. I’m the one who is hurting and lashes out at him because I’m feeling neglected. That’s one dirty secret that blogs and the rest of the internet will never tell you: Even doms don’t always feel like having sex sometimes. Even subs get mad. Even doms make mistakes. Even subs make demands. Even doms apologize.

A dozen times I’ve asked myself, “Am I staying in this relationship because I’m submissive? (In other words, I love him, but am I too forgiving?) Is he acting the way he’s acting because he’s dominant? (In other words, does he neglect me sometimes because he thinks he can get away with it?)“I don’t have the answers. I’m fighting to make this relationship succeed, but there are times I wonder if I’m fighting too hard. When our relationship is good, it’s great. When our relationship is bad, I’m miserable.

I have certain expectations for a relationship, and if those expectations aren’t being met, then I have to seriously consider whether I want to remain in the relationship. Just today, after another phone call filled with tears, I hung up and thought to myself, “Can a submissive give her dominant partner rules that he must agree to obey?” In some ways, it’s not very different from a submissive who has a list of non-negotiables. But my non-negotiables are things like, “We have to talk every night if we’re falling asleep in separate cities,” and “Please don’t cancel plans without first talking to me about it.”

So I’m curious. For those of you who are submissive and in a long-term relationship, what spoken or unspoken expectations do you have of your dom? What bad behavior makes you say, “Stop it! That’s not fair. This is something I need out of a relationship!” Or am I just a bad sub for not silently suffering?

5 Responses to Rules for Dominants

  1. aoefe says:

    I am not in a LTR with a Dom so I can’t answer your questions. I do say however that I’m thankful you posted. I love your honesty, I believe that we can too easily create from what we read a fantasy which can not be realized. Some bloggers, like you, are very real and tell the downsides along with the ups, others do not. That said outside of the fantasy you have every right to expect things in a relationship. You have the right to negotiate them outside of a D/s protocol. We are human beings and are created with needs. The issues need to be discussed and agreed to. When they are broken (this goes for either side) they need some serious attention, For example asking for a phone call every night may or may not be possible for him. If he agrees to it without thinking of the issues he has with it and then doesn’t do it, it breaks trust. If he says it’s not what he’d like to do (and he does have final word as the Dom), but negotiates with you what he’s willing to do and then does it, it builds trust. If he negotiates and doesn’t follow through – well you see the issue. And it’s hard to feel ‘right’ when those things happen. Trust is critical in any relationship, all the more important in D/s. Bottom line you have every right to trust him. How he earns it is up to him. I know you already know you have a part in it, so I’m not trying to throw the blame all his way. Dont you hate when someone dumps on your man – not my intention. 🙂

  2. J says:

    No fears…I don’t at all interpret your comments as dumping on him! The past week has been good. After telling him that I had questions about why I was staying in the relationship, we had some serious conversations about communication and respecting each other. He’s been been making a great effort, and I appreciate that. I truly love him and want to spend the rest of my life with him, so I hope we can make it work!

  3. Elizabeth says:

    I think your thoughts are very valid and your openness to address them is respectful.

    A list of demands might not really be the best approach. How about discussing what you really need and want in your relationship. Be honest and let him know how important those things are to you. But be honest with yourself, too. Are they real needs or fantasies. I’m guessing you’ll find a way to express your real needs.

    If he is unable to fulfill those needs, then you have decisions to make. I’m guessing a very sincere discussion will not lead to writing off your relationship though.

  4. J says:

    Hi Elizabeth,

    In some instances we’ve discussed my needs–and his, too–repeatedly. He says he understands and agrees with them, he’s good for a while about honoring them, then it all comes crashing down again. : big sigh:

    Recently it’s been somewhat better. I think I finally got his attention and made him understand the seriousness of the situation. I’m optimistic.

    J

  5. Irrumator says:

    The worst thing a Dom can do in a D/s relationship is to be a pig-headed, unreasonable, selfish prick, who won’t take the time or the effort to calmly and rationally discuss with his sub any fears, hurts, misunderstangs, questions, and yes…anger that she may be experiencing. Yes, as the Dom, he does have certain priviledges, prerogatives and rights in the relationship. And, the sub, as a result of her position, should presume trust, owes him the benefit of the doubt…unless he repeatedly proves himself utterly unworthy of such.
    If she is willing to be submissively taken in hand by him, it should be a firm, reliable, and confident hand that guides her… in matters of life and relationship concerns…as well as to gently guide her to her knees, in eager anticipation of having his Mighty Manhood in her mouth, soon to taste and savour his Liquid Life Energy sliding over her tongue and down her throat, digesting his warm, white, sticky Man Seed…to become One with him, and worship and honour the Cock of the Master she so lovingly adores, and looks up to…both literally and figuratively.

Leave a comment